Council Election Results


Albert Jacob has been re-elected Mayor of the City of Joondalup at the 2021 Local Government Elections, with 52.38% of the vote.

Russell Poliwka received 24.89% and Ziggi Murphy 22.72% of the vote.

Four incumbent members of the Joondalup Council were re-elected – John Chester (South East Ward), Russ Fishwick (South Ward), Christine Hamilton-Prime (South West Ward) and Christopher May (Central Ward).

There were two new members elected to the Council – Adrian Hill in the North Ward after Kerry Hollywood chose not to seek re-election, while Daniel Kingston replaces Philippa Taylor in North Central Ward. Ms Taylor had served on the Council since 2009.

Mayor Jacob and the six Ward Councillors were sworn in at a ceremony held in the Joondalup Council Chambers yesterday. Their terms will expire in October 2025.

At a special Council meeting held later that evening, Cr Hamilton-Prime was elected Deputy Mayor.

Cr Hamilton-Prime stated that she intends to serve one year in the position before stepping aside in October 2022 to allow for the election of a new Deputy Mayor until the 2023 Local Government Election.

Mayor Jacob said he was grateful for the support he had received from the residents of the City and was looking forward to delivering positive outcomes over the next four years.

“It is an enormous privilege to serve one of the greatest populations you will find anywhere in the world. They have put their trust in me to fulfil the role of Mayor and I don’t take that trust lightly,” Mayor Jacob said.

“Our job as a Council is to make what is already one of the best places in the world to live an even better place to live.

“Having four current members of Council returned to their position is a great reflection of the work that they have been doing within their community for a number of years.

“Our two newest Councillors both come in with very strong mandates from their community, and that will be respected around the Council table.

“We are very lucky that we have a strong Council team that brings a high capacity and a range of skills in varied areas.

“All of the City’s Elected Members seek the best for our community, they seek ongoing prosperity for our community, as well as improvements to the quality of life for our community.

“I also take this opportunity to pay tribute to Kerry Hollywood and Philippa Taylor, who have now departed the Joondalup Council after serving 15 years and 12 years respectively.

“I sincerely thank both Kerry and Philippa for all that they have done for the Council, the City and our residents and ratepayers over a number of years and wish them and their families all the very best for the future.”