Artists selected for 2018 Community Invitation Art Award


The City of Joondalup has revealed the names of the 15 artists invited to participate in the 2018 Community Invitation Art Award (CIAA).

The CIAA is the City’s premier visual arts event which celebrates the creative talents of professional Western Australian artists and the major role they have made – and continue to make – to the State’s contemporary visual arts scene.

The participating artists in 2018 are: Jennifer Cochrane, Sarah Elson, Caspar Fairhall, Emily Hornum, Eveline Kotai, Leonie Ngahuia Mansbridge, Amanda Marsh, Ellen Norrish, Mark Parfitt, Andy Quilty, Trevor Richards, Susan Roux, Susannah Skinner, Sioux Tempestt and Gera Woltjer.

The winner of the CIAA acquisitive prize will receive $7,000, while one artist will be commissioned to produce an artwork for the City of Joondalup Inside-Out Billboard project. Other prizes totalling another $8,000 will be awarded.

Joondalup Mayor Albert Jacob said he was looking forward to seeing the completed works when the CIAA exhibition is held in the Myer Centre Court at Lakeside Joondalup Shopping City from Sunday 14 October to Sunday 28 October.

“This year’s line-up of contributing artists, put together by an independent panel of experts, is one of the strongest in the event’s proud history and we look forward to again showcasing world-class contemporary art to the tens of thousands of people expected to view this year’s exhibition,” he said.

Last year, promising young Western Australian artist Jarrad Martyn’s entry Territory was the winner of the acquisitive prize.

Featured image: Tom Freeman, Dancefloor (detail), 2017.
Tom was a participant in CIAA 2017