

Policy Committee

MINUTES OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING

HELD ON



www.joondalup.wa.gov.au



MINUTES OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN CONFERENCE ROOM 1, JOONDALUP CIVIC CENTRE, BOAS AVENUE, JOONDALUP ON TUESDAY, 20 NOVEMBER 2007

ATTENDANCE

Committee Members:

Cr Kerry Hollywood Cr Trona Young Mayor Troy Pickard	Presiding Person Deputy Presiding Person	North Ward North-Central Ward
Cr Marie Macdonald Cr Mike Norman Cr Fiona Diaz Vacant		Central Ward South-West Ward South Ward South-East Ward

Observers:

Cr G Amphlett	Central Ward
Cr B Corr	South-East Ward
Cr R Fishwick	South Ward
Cr T McLean	North Ward

Officers:

Mr Garry Hunt		
Mr Ian Cowie		
Mr Mike Tidy		
Mr Mike Smith		
Ms Lesley Taylor		

Chief Executive Officer Director Governance and Strategy Director Corporate Services Manager Marketing Communications & Council Support Administrative Secretary

DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 1815 hrs.

ELECTION OF PRESIDING PERSON

Section 5.12 of the Local Government Act 1995 requires a committee appointed by a local government, to elect a presiding person as the first item of business at its first meeting. Schedule 2.3 of the Act requires the Chief Executive Officer to preside. Nominations for the position of presiding person are to be given to the Chief Executive Officer in writing, with the vote to be conducted by ballot.

The Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the position of Presiding Person.

Mayor Pickard nominated Cr Hollywood for the position of Presiding Person. Cr Hollywood accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, Cr Hollywood was elected unopposed to the position of Presiding Person and assumed the Chair at 1816 hrs.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDING PERSON

It is advisable that the committee elects a deputy presiding person, who would chair the meeting in the absence of the presiding person. The procedure for electing the deputy presiding person is also determined by Schedule 2.3 of the Act.

The Presiding Person invited nominations for the position of Deputy Presiding Person.

Mayor Pickard nominated Cr Young for the position of Deputy Presiding Person. Cr Young accepted the nomination.

There being no further nominations, Cr Young was elected unopposed to the position of Deputy Presiding Person.

APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

MINUTES OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON 8 OCTOBER 2007

MOVED Mayor Pickard, SECONDED Cr Macdonald that the minutes of the meeting of the Policy Committee held on 8 October 2007 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

The Motion was Put and

CARRIED (5/1)

In favour of the motion: Mayor Pickard, Crs Diaz, Hollywood, Macdonald and Norman Against the Motion: Cr Young

ANNOUNCEMENTS BY THE PRESIDING PERSON WITHOUT DISCUSSION

Nil.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Nil.

IDENTIFICATION OF MATTERS FOR WHICH THE MEETING MAY SIT BEHIND CLOSED DOORS

Nil.

PETITIONS AND DEPUTATIONS

Nil.

REPORTS

ITEM 1 DATE OF NEXT MEETING

The primary purpose of this meeting was to elect the presiding person and deputy presiding person. To enable the Committee to meet again, it is recommended that a resolution is carried to set the date of the next meeting. At that meeting, a report will be presented establishing the meeting dates for 2008.

OFFICER'S RECOMMENDATION: That the Policy Committee sets its next meeting as follows:

Date: Time: Venue: Conference Room 1, Joondalup Civic Centre.

MOVED Cr Young, SECONDED Cr Norman that in accordance with the provisions of the City's Standing Orders Local Law 2005, the Presiding Person in consultation with the Chief Executive Officer SETS the next meeting of the Policy Committee.

The Motion was Put and

CARRIED (6/0)

In favour of the motion: Mayor Pickard, Crs Diaz, Hollywood, Macdonald, Norman and Young

MOTIONS OF WHICH PREVIOUS NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN

Nil.

REQUESTS FOR REPORTS FOR FUTURE CONSIDERATION

Cr Macdonald requested a report in relation to all policies associated with Noise.

There being no further business, the Presiding Person declared the Meeting closed at 1819 hrs; the following Elected members being present at that time:

Cr Kerry Hollywood Cr Trona Young Mayor Troy Pickard Cr Marie Macdonald Cr Mike Norman Cr Fiona Diaz