

Regional Council Representation Policy

City Policy

Responsible Directorate: Governance and Strategy

Objective: To guide the nomination of Elected Member representation on Regional Councils.

1. Statement:

This policy has been prepared to guide the decision-making of Elected Member nominations to the Mindarie Regional Council and the Tamala Park Regional Council following local government elections.

2. Mindarie Regional Council:

2.1. Function:

The Constitution of the Mindarie Regional Council (MRC) has been drawn pursuant to the provisions of section 697 of the *Local Government Act 1960* having been formally approved by the Minister for Local Government and recommended to the Governor in Executive Council on 22 December 1987.

The designated function accorded to the MRC is:

The orderly and efficient treatment and/or disposal of waste delivered to a building or a place provided, managed or controlled for those purposes by the Regional Council.

2.2. Membership:

The MRC comprises delegates from each of the member local governments on the basis of acknowledged equity within the landfill enterprise. The City of Joondalup is represented by two Elected Members.

Appointment of Elected Members representatives will be made by Council following the ordinary local government elections held every two years. To provide experience and further an Elected Member's knowledge of the City's functions, Council is to rotate appointment of Elected Member representatives from among sitting Elected Members, with any particular Elected Member only serving four consecutive years of membership.

3. Tamala Park Regional Council:

3.1. Function:

The Tamala Park Regional Council (TPRC) is the corporate entity representing the interests of seven local governments in the urban development of 180 hectares of land in Clarkson and Mindarie in Perth's northern suburbs (Tamala Park land).

The purpose of the TPRC is to undertake the rezoning, subdivision, development, marketing and sale of the Tamala Park land.

3.2. Membership:

The TPRC comprises 12 members nominated by the seven owner local governments according to ownership shares. The City of Joondalup is represented by two Elected Members.

Appointment of Elected Members representatives will be made by Council following the ordinary local government elections held every two years. To provide experience and further an Elected Member's knowledge of the City's functions, Council is to rotate appointment of Elected Member representatives from among sitting Elected Members, with any particular Elected Member only serving four consecutive years of membership.

The City of Joondalup nominated representative on the TPRC shall not be a sitting member of the MRC.