Keeping of poultry

Poultry are defined as any domestic fowl or chicken, bantam, duck, goose or gander, guinea fowl, pheasant, turkey, peacock or peahen. The City’s Animals Local Law 1999 allows up to 12 poultry, including a maximum of two ducks, to be kept in a residential area. However, poultry must be kept in an enclosure that meets certain structural requirements and specifications, described in our Keeping of Poultry Fact Sheet.

A rooster, turkey, goose or gander, peacock or peahen cannot be kept in a residential area.

You may also wish to visit the Department of Agriculture and Food website for further information.