New faces join stable Council


Incumbents Nige Jones (North-Central), Russell Poliwka (Central), John Logan (South-East) and Tom McLean (North) have all been re-elected to Joondalup Council.

The results of the 2019 Local Government Elections were announced on Saturday 19 October with first-time Elected Members John Raftis (South-West Ward) and Suzanne Thompson (South Ward) also elected in their respective wards, filling the two vacant seats left by the retired Mike Norman and Sophie Dwyer.

At a Special Meeting of Council on Tuesday 22 October, five Elected Members were sworn in for four-year terms, while Cr Russ Fishwick was elected Deputy Mayor. * Note Cr Jones was sworn in at a private ceremony.

The current Council also comprises Cr Kerry Hollywood (North Ward, term expires 2021), Cr Philippa Taylor (North-Central, term expires 2021), Cr Christopher May (Central, term expires 2021), Cr John Chester (South-East, term expires 2021), Cr Christine Hamilton-Prime (South-West, term expires 2021) Cr Fishwick (South, term expires 2021) and Mayor Jacob (term expires 2021).

Mayor Jacob said the fact that all four Elected Members who recontested their seats were re-elected was a positive sign that the community was supportive of the the job the Council has done in recent years.

“We are lucky to have such a stable and committed Elected Body that works with our local community to achieve great outcomes for our City and its ratepayers,” he said.

“On the cusp of a new decade and with ground about to be broken next year on the transformational projects like Ocean Reef Marina, it promises to be a particularly exciting period for our City.

“I am sure the addition of Cr Thompson and Cr Raftis to Council will be of great benefit as they draw upon their own backgrounds, interests and experiences to serve our community and help us make Joondalup the best City it can be.”

Mayor Jacob said voter return percentages were comparable to the last time the City held a non-Mayoral election in 2015.