Strategic Community Reference Group

Established in 2012, the City’s Strategic Community Reference Group provides input to the Council on matters of significant community interest and strategic initiatives.

The group consists of 12 community representatives, two youth representatives (aged 16-24 years) and four Elected Members. Subject matter experts are also invited to provide expert advice on specific topics. Community and youth representatives are appointed for two years and meet up to three times per year.

Recent topics of discussion have included:

  • Integrated Transport Strategy
  • Weed Management Plan
  • Climate Change Strategy
  • Support for local business
  • Fostering community leadership
  • Methods of community engagement and communication
  • Strategic Community Plan
  • Volunteer recognition
  • Waste Management Plan
  • Bike Plan
  • Environment Plan
  • Community Development Plan
  • Community Safety and Crime Prevention Plan.

The Strategic Community Reference Group for 2022-23 comprises the following members:

Presiding Member Mayor Hon. Albert Jacob
Elected Member Cr Christine Hamilton-Prime JP
Elected Member  Cr Christopher May
Elected Member Cr John Raftis
Youth Representative Ms Tara Belle Lie
Youth Representative Ms Aimee Wright
North Ward Ms Robyn Anderson
North Ward Mr Allan Connolly
North-Central Ward Mr Kim Allen
North-Central Ward Ms Gail Carmody
Central Ward Mr Leonard Collier
Central Ward Ms Gemma Dorman
South-West Ward Mr David Hudson MBE
South-West Ward Ms Sandra Watson
South-East Ward Ms Janine Blake
South-East Ward Ms Alison Elsom
South Ward Mr Ronald Gallagher
South Ward The Reverend Lorna Green